Firecracker 5K

Next year I will get a mug! That is my goal after completing the Firecracker 5K about 2 minutes shy of top 60-female status and winning a “coveted” mug. I was so jealous of all those people walking around with their mugs after the race. That will be me next year! 😉

All in all this was a good race – we had fun, did not die, I met my goal (even though it was not a PR -personal record), and we managed to see some people we know among the 3,000+ at the race, so that’s always good.

Before the race

I have to take a photo before every race; this has become a tradition, even though I usually look hideous. This is us after parking – the race, as big as it is, begins at the St. Vincent Mall in Shreveport, and if there’s anything I appreciate second to water at a race, it is ample parking.

My goal, knowing the heat, my lack of training this summer, and slow pace when I have gone running lately, was to come in around 27 minutes (about 30 seconds slower than my PR).

Waiting for the start

This is probably the biggest locally-organized race in Shreveport each year, coming in second overall to the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. It’s for families as well as competitive runners, and there was fun patriotic music playing as we walked towards the starting line, which was hard to identify with all of the people milling around. They released huge beach balls into the crowd before the start, and Hunter accidentally hit me in the head trying to reach one. Yeah, he is smooth.

Beach Balls - racing hazard?? 🙂

The race started with firecrackers being set off, and we were off… sort of. I hate the congestion at the beginning of races, where you’re just shuffling trying to get around everyone. I almost elbowed some little kids that wouldn’t get out the way. Just kidding, sort of.

Hunter is too fast for me, so he left me pretty quickly and I was on my own. We left the mall and ran through the adjacent neighborhood, which was very shady so it helped a lot with the heat. Some of the residents had set up their sprinklers by the road so that runners could go through them to cool off, and the race itself also had these little ‘shower’ stations where you could run through the misty water. I’d say this race was pretty much like any other – except for two hills that were pretty challenging. Hunter said these are probably  the only hills in Shreveport! And they incorporated them into the race!

There was one water station and I didn’t stop for it, ever aware of making my goal. As I approached the finish line, it was at 26:56 and I trucked it to the end, crossing under what I believe was probably exactly 27. My Garmin had me at 26:55, 3.11 miles, for an 8:40 pace, so I am going with that. Success!

No chip, so this was my "official" time!

That makes three for three Summer Races that I did not PR. Never thought I would be happy with this result, but I was. Hunter finished about a minute ahead of me, and I found him quickly. First thing I grabbed from the race food – this popsicle:

Fleur-de-Lis popsicle

Popsicles should be mandatory at all hot races.

The Shreveport Times posted 70 photos of the race on their website. I looked through all of them, and finally found one with us in it at like photo 64!

White hat and purple shirt

Overall, a fun race, and one I will hopefully be in the top 60 for next year. Now we are back in Baton Rouge, and I’m hoping to do the Spillway Classic on July 17. We’ll see.

6 thoughts on “Firecracker 5K

    • Thank you! This was the first race down here I’ve seen popsicles at, and that’s just crazy to me! I might start making that a deciding factor on whether I register or not 😉

  1. Yes to popsicles!
    I never stop at water stations either. I think February’s race was the first one that I ever drank or ate anything while running… I think before that I was afraid that if I stopped I wouldn’t be able to start again. Now that I know it won’t kill me, I think I’ll be pausing for water at the next race. But if the race is short enough, I agree — just go for the popsicle at the end for sure.
    Nice race!

    • I stop for water at everything longer than a 5K, but for 3.1 miles I can survive without it (unless the heat is just out of control!) I was desperate for water the second I crossed the finish line, though!

Leave a Reply

