Experiment Time.

101_1189

So I think it’s time to change things up. They say the definition of craziness is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results. I keep doing the same things, then expect my runs in this insane heat to go differently. It’s time to try something new!

I’ve come to this conclusion after a 4-mile run Monday in the above temperatures that left me feeling kind of nauseous and like my body was definitely overheating.

IMG-20110711-00272

Don’t let the fake smile fool you. My face is not red from sunburn – just being too hot!

Mentally I felt good about the run because I met my goal, which was to run 4 miles at a sub-9:30 pace. I am not good at math but my husband says this is a 9:17 pace. : )

000_0021

So physically I felt pretty terrible for the last 1.65 miles, even after a water break, and I figure it can’t hurt to try one of the tactics I read about in this month’s Runner’s World.

101_1196

The story was about how one man trained for a half marathon in Dallas last August. It is aptly called the “Hottest Half.” One of the ideas was to drink a frozen drink shortly before running, in order to lower core temperature so you have farther to go before you reach the heat limit.

“Precooling is the process of deliberately lowering core body temperature 30 to 60 minutes before exercising in the heat… In 2010, researchers found that runners who drank an icy,sweet drink ran 10 minutes longer on a treadmill in a heated room than runners who drank syrup-flavored cold water… The “ice slurries” lowered their temps, which may have allowed them to run longer before their bodies overheated.”

101_1192

So today I’d love to be able to run 5 miles. I am going to blend a frozen drink on my lunch break, either just water and ice or maybe a light smoothie, and then store it in the freezer at work to drink 30 minutes before I go running when I get off. Will this really help? I don’t know, but it’s worth a try!

2 thoughts on “Experiment Time.

  1. I hope it helps!! The heat has been getting to me too, and I don’t even have to deal with the same crazy temperatures it seems like you are running in. This strategy of “pre-cooling” before a hot run is really interesting. I want to try it before my next run and see if it makes a difference!

Leave a Reply

