Best Laid Plans!

I am really proud of myself for a sort of pathetic reason. I actually cooked every weeknight this week, Monday-Thursday. This rarely happens – there is usually at least one night during the week that I just don’t feel like it and we get something fast from somewhere. According to mint.com this is where a LOT of our money has gone – to restaurants and fast food. So this week I planned out a nightly menu, something I haven’t done in quite awhile, and I actually followed through! (I wish I could say the same for all of my exercise and running plans).

Monday – Calzones made with pizza dough and various toppings. Husband really liked this.

Tuesday – Fish filets and sweet potato fries – a fast, easy meal since Hunter had an ultimate frisbee game (yes, he is in a summer league)

Wednesday – Spaghetti with meatballs, bell pepper, onions, and mushroom

Thursday – Twice-baked garlic potatoes and salad.

Calzones pre-folding
Twice-baked potatoes, mine is the one with broccoli, of course.

Tonight we’ll be eating at my mom’s and tomorrow we’ll probably go out using a Groupon-esque voucher. I’ve been snatching those up whenever something good pops up locally because we love to eat out, and I feel much better about it when it’s 50 percent off.

Exercise this week didn’t go so great for a number of reasons:

Monday – The best day, I ran 4 miles strong

Tuesday – I did not run because it had stormed all day, but then ended up doing some kickboxing DVD workouts and running that night, 1.35 miles — far less than the 5 miles I had hoped to do

Wednesday – I thought about doing a 2-mile race, but instead we went to PetSmart and spent 45 minutes looking for cat toys. So I did nothing this day.

He proceeded to sniff all of the cat toys we bought and then walk away disinterested.
It is much more interesting to watch Daddy play video games and watch the mouse cursor move across the screen.

Thursday – Fully intended to run after work, even changed into my running clothes in the bathroom, but it was raining steadily and rained all evening. So I did some core workouts with my stability ball and planks. My cat climbed into my shirt while I was doing a plank, it was pretty amusing.

Friday – Today I got up at 6 and went to the gym only to run 2 miles on the treadmill before work. I won’t have time this evening to run, so this was the only time to get something in! I wish I had done more. My mileage this week is really poor.

I plan to run at least 5 miles tomorrow morning. Hopefully I don’t flake out on that too. And hopefully it doesn’t RAIN!

6 thoughts on “Best Laid Plans!

  1. Your meals sound good! I’ve never made my own calzone. (I might have to now.) sorry to hear that your running got off track this week. Here’s hoping that the weather turns around.*

Leave a Reply

