“There is more to life than increasing its speed.”


That is the “inspirational quote” of the month for August in my calendar, allegedly said by Ghandi. That is a pretty good one. I have often been guilty of “wishing my life away,” so to speak. Next week, my husband will begin his third and final year of law school. We moved here almost two years ago, starting a totally new phase in life, and I can hardly believe it’s almost over. A year from now he’ll be getting ready to take the Bar Exam and who knows what the future will bring after that?

I am happy to say I have really enjoyed this time in our lives and didn’t wish it away – even with him in school and not working, we’ve not wanted for anything (except maybe more closet space in our tiny apartment! ;), we’ve made new friends, I discovered running while my husband was able to continue playing Ultimate Frisbee with new people, and we’ve grown as a couple and have lived relatively stress-free. When he graduates, we’ll have student loans to pay, he’ll be looking for a job and we don’t know how long that will take, we’ll probably want to move into a bigger apartment, etc. So I am going to savor and enjoy this next year, being thankful for everything and readying myself for what the future brings. Our third wedding anniversary is August 16, and I can hardly believe that either!

This weekend was a good one, there was a good mix of fun and productivity.

On the exercise front, I made my goal of running more than an hour in July. It was the first time I’d run over an hour since the BEGINNING OF JUNE. That’s just no good. I blame the heat, but I also blame my lack of mental toughness in the heat. Thankfully, all the rain we’ve gotten has lowered the temperatures and this was the forecast Saturday morning:


Low 80’s for the win.

I ran 7 miles in an hour and 7 minutes, right in the middle of my goal time, for a 9:36 pace! The last mile was a struggle, but I think that’s mental, too.

Please ignore the wrist fat

I ran the 7 miles in the park where I do most of my runs, and it can get boring but I try to mix it up. I start out by running on the sidewalk around the perimeter of the park. If I just stay on the sidewalk, one lap around is 1.35 miles.

I never run on the road

I used to only run around the perimeter of the park, but then while training for a half marathon last winter, I got bored with that and decided to explore inside the park.

There is a botanical garden:

With cool plants like this:

And there is a 1/4-mile dirt trail that just adds a short change of pace:

This is where I started running, trained for my half marathon, and I’m sure I will use the park for shorter runs during marathon training, but I need to find somewhere new for my really long runs. I would have to go around and through this park MANY times to get up to 20 miles!

During the run, I felt really hungry even though I’d eaten a banana before leaving the apartment, so I ate a packet of Gu Chomps  after 3.5 miles – Watermelon is my favorite!  I took two water breaks during the run and that worked out fine.

Afterwards, even though it wasn’t as hot as it’s been, I was drenched. I decided to see what my hair looked like out of its bun:

Attractive, yes?

It feels so good to get that run under my belt!

On Saturday night, we used a Groupon to check out this place downtown called Lucy’s Retired Surfers Bar and Restaurant. It was a pretty cool atmosphere.

"Sanitized Surf Tools for Your Protection"

Husband got crawfish enchiladas, and I got the Lucy’s Chopped Salad. We had chips and guacamole to start.

Smile!

After dinner we went and saw “Crazy, Stupid Love.” Very cute! I told my husband that if Ryan Gosling was in it, it had to be good. We also love Steve Carell.

I also cleaned our entire apartment and we washed about 4 loads of clothes, and the n on Sunday I went to the gym. I did 25 minutes on the Cybex Arc Trainer, which was like a more intense elliptical thing. I did a strength program and my legs were like jelly when it was over. Then I did both upper and lower body strength workouts with free weights and the machines.

This is a picture of the Cybex Machine from http://www.cybexintl.com. It was a good workout:

So yes, a fun and productive weekend!

A fellow Louisiana running blogger, Katie of Katie Runs This, is giving away a Sport ID Band! Click here to enter.

4 thoughts on ““There is more to life than increasing its speed.”

  1. Wow, completeing law school is huge! But isn’t it funny how fast time can fly? And great job on hitting your goal for July! Running in the heat is super tough – but you’re right – it’s mainly mental!

  2. Good job on getting a great run in! I’m always looking for someone new to run, but in the end, I just run near where I live. (That meant that I did a 20 mile run on a two mile stretch of road last year. It was really hard! I wouldn’t recommend it!) Sounds like you have a great attitude about your husband finishing up school this year!*

Leave a Reply

