Red Carpet Road Race Recap

runnightlife.com

We had a fun Saturday night, running a 5K downtown with lots of people dressed in their “glam” wear and the most unique racing bibs I’ve ever seen.

The race included an after-party with the best race food menu I’ve ever experienced, door prizes for everyone, and a race medal and glass from Varsity Sports to the first 75 finishers wearing Brooks gear.

Well, it just so happened that earlier in the day, I went to the running store and FINALLY did something I should have done long ago – had my feet evaluated and got shoes based on that evaluation. It turns out I overpronate slightly, so I ended up getting some Brooks Ravenna II shoes which will hopefully help me run with more support for this problem.

101_1353

Aren’t they pretty? Whenever you buy shoes from Varsity, you get a free shirt, so I chose one with Saints colors:

101_1354

We got to the race site about 15 minutes before race time (we’d picked up our race packets on Thursday) and saw that lots of people had decided to dress up! I knew it would be a fun race!

So, the race “bibs” went along with the theme of nightlife and red carpet; check them out:

101_1358

101_1360

The female one was a little much, but I wore it!! It was just for fun.

I thought the race was going to be 3 miles, but it ended up being at least 3.2, according to my Garmin. I don’t know if they meant it to be a 5K or If I was just a little over because of the whole “not cutting corners” thing.

101_1364101_1368

I am not very good at taking photos while running; that is something I need to work on.

Husband ended up going ahead of me, something I don’t mind and always encourage him to do. No need to stick with me when I am slower than him. I started out at a good race pace even though I was worried about my IT band, and as soon as I felt the first bit of pain, I backed off.

I was proud of myself for keeping a decent pace to the end, and not letting anyone pass me for the last mile, with the exception of two guys who were apparently racing each other and sprinted past me right as we approached the finish line. They came out of nowhere.

I finished 3.2 miles in 27 minutes and 37 seconds. Not a PR, not even better than my 4th of July 5K time, but I felt pretty good about it. Even though I experienced sporadic pain in my leg, I felt no pain after and iced and foam rolled as soon as we got home. I think I will take it easy the rest of August, and I hope that the new running shoes help me in my healing process.

101_1370

Don’t know If you can tell but I was completely drenched after finishing this race. I rehydrated with small bottles of Powerade, Gatorade, several cups of Powerade, and then when I got home I had Coconut Water and more Gatorade.

This was the medal:

101_1371

And being one of the first 75 finishers wearing Brooks gear got me a glass from Varsity Sports – a “Vartini” glass. Hunter would have gotten one too but he wasn’t wearing any Brooks –

101_1373

After the race there was a great party held at a nearby facility where the menu was absolutely fancy. Check it out:

289

We tried EVERYTHING!

Overall, a very fun race. I don’t know if we’d do it again next year just because the registration fee was pricey – $65 a person, though I understand considering the outstanding catering, the really nice race medals, the free door prizes which everyone got (We won a gift certificate to a restaurant and two free baths for our pet – don’t know if that will work with a cat but maybe we can find a dog owner who would want to use it) – so maybe not again, but I am really glad we did it, if only this once!

After the race we went to our favorite place, YOGURTLAND…

Always a great way to end the day!

2 thoughts on “Red Carpet Road Race Recap

  1. Oh my goodness what a FUN race!!! I love fun races because it reminds people that running is supposed to be fun and something you can do to enjoy time with your friends and be silly. Don’t you just love the Hello Kitty cups and spoons at Yogurtland??

  2. This seems like a great race!! I like all the outfits, including yours :)And ending the day with Yogurtland is one of my favorite things to do. I love the Hello Kitty thing they have going on. I have three of the spoons, I want to get all of them.

Leave a Reply

