Marathon Checklist – An Update

My main reason for starting this blog was to chronicle my quest to finish a marathon, and seeing as how I started it a full 3 months before marathon training was even set to begin, you could say I was a little anxious. Now we are one month away from official start of training, so let’s take a look at the checklist of training “wants” I posted back in late June.

1) CamelBak 2011 Annadel: $49

Status: I ordered the CamelBak Women’s Charm Pack ’10 this weekend for $21 (plus tax and shipping)

I think it will work out just as well, for more than half the price!

2) Nike Swift Y-Back Running Bra: $40

Status: My main goal was to get a good quality sports bra, and in addition to my New Balance one, I recently got an Adidas Supernova racing sports bra on sale for $22.88 at Running Warehouse.com. I really just want the high quality ones for my long runs, and my medium-quality ones are fine for shorter runs and cross-training.

3) Lululemon Run Swiftly Long-Sleeved Tech Shirt: $68

Still haven’t been able to bring myself to spend that much on a running shirt that will only be wearable in the winter, no matter how much I want it. As an alternative, I’ve bought three long-sleeve running shirts from Thriv, waiting for them to be on sale to do so. So I got three really nice, soft running shirts for $66.50. Look at that, three for less than the price of one!

4) Brooks Defyance 4: $100

As I posted the other day, I finally got my feet evaluated and it turns out Brooks Ravenna 2 are the best for me. Very happy to have these babies!

I’ve added something to my list!

5) A healthy IT band.

Still waiting on that one.

3 thoughts on “Marathon Checklist – An Update

  1. As far as tops go, have you tried the Nike Combat gear? I got some really nice long sleeve tops with the thumb holes from 6pm.com for $20 each and I LOVE them…. well, when it’s cold enough to wear them I love them!

    Good job on getting the new shoes… getting your feet evaluated really helps!!! I don’t know why I waited so long to do it myself.

Leave a Reply

