Treasure your conditioning.

I did not run or do anything else cardio-related from Aug. 21 to Sept. 7, and when I decided to go for a test run last Thursday, a 15-minute easy pace, not only was my IT band STILL irritated, but my lungs were on fire. Can your conditioning really deteriorate that badly over 2.5 weeks?

Showing that it was not a fluke, I felt the same fire in my lungs yesterday as I did a tough 25-minute strength/cardio workout on the Cybex Arc Trainer at the gym. I was appalled!

I’ve worked my conditioning up over the past year, so to see it fall so quickly is sad. I know I should have been keeping active even when I couldn’t run, but the truth is, I only enjoy working out when it is a complement to running. Without running I just didn’t feel like doing anything else.

I am bummed that my leg still hurts. What will it take to get better?

I am planning to hit the gym several times over the next few weeks – not only has my conditioning been trashed but I have gained a few pounds. My scale is broken so I don’t know how many…and I don’t want to know!

Husband’s 10-year high school reunion is in two weeks, so even though I don’t know any of those people, I still want to look nice! This is the dress I’m wearing, from Ruche:

Also, I shopped the Anthropologie sale today and picked up these two nice pieces:

Both were on sale, and you got free shipping as long as you purchased a regular priced item, so I also got some mint lip balm 🙂

2 thoughts on “Treasure your conditioning.

Leave a Reply

