Successful run.

Yes, my blog about running is finally going to … talk about running. I mentioned that I ran for 15minutes a little over 2 weeks ago, but it was such a worthless run it wasn’t worth really getting into or taking pictures or anything like that. Basically after about a mile my leg was throbbing. No progress. So I spent the next two weeks once again doing nothing. I went to the gym once. Yeah… really unmotivated here.

Well, this morning I set out again to test my leg, and miraculously, I completed 3 whole miles with little to no pain! The only thing I really experienced was tightness, but that is a lot better -in my eyes – than throbbing pain! I made sure to stretch a ton afterward and will continue to do so.

Happy after my run

After discovering how terrible my conditioning had gotten, the run today was focused mainly on 1) running without pain and 2) sustaining my run for as long as I could without walking. For the first time in a long time, I was not worried about pace at all – I just wanted to keep it easy to keep any pain at bay.

My lungs were not on fire today like they were the last time I ran, and while I did become a “panter” at some points, I feel like my endurance was good and I think – hope – I have not lost all of the progress I had made completely.

I really felt like “myself” again after this run. I know not to define myself by something like this – if I lose the ability to run for some reason one day, I don’t want to feel like my sense of self is gone. But not doing any kind of activity really has become foreign to me – and it felt so good to do this again. You can’t take it for granted!

3 thoughts on “Successful run.

  1. So happy to read that you had a good run! And you’re right, downtime really drives home the point that we can’t take our health for granted. Hoping your recovery continues on this good path.

Leave a Reply

