Marathon Training – Week One …

Today is the official first day of my planned Marathon Training. When I first made out my training plan, I had no idea that I would be almost 2 months into an IT band injury that limited my September miles to 4.5.

I’m going to slowly set out to follow along with my plan as much as I can, after seeing improvement in my leg on Saturday. Let’s see what this week has in store:

I’m going to run 2 miles today – they’re not going to be speed miles, but I feel pretty good about my ability to do 2 miles. I like this plan because it has me running only three times a week (based on a Runner’s World training plan), and no back-to-back running days. I think this will help to keep other injuries away.

Tuesday – Yoga — I have a DVD I will do at home, 45 minutes to an hour.

Wednesday – XT – Probably spinning and weights at the gym

Thursday – Tempo 3 – This I can do.

Friday – XT – Back to the gym for weights and probably the elliptical, maybe light spinning.

Saturday – There is no way I can do 10 miles. Without my injury, I would have been covering close to this distance over the last 2 months several times, but I haven’t been able to do much at all. I don’t think it would be smart for me to even attempt it this Saturday when I haven’t run more than 3 miles at a time in two months. What I will do is evaluate how my leg holds up with the first two runs, and then adjust accordingly. I think I would be lucky to feel comfortable enough to do 5 miles on Saturday.

Really, I just want to be careful and proceed with caution. Hopefully I will be able to work my way up to being able to do these really long runs soon.

One thought on “Marathon Training – Week One …

Leave a Reply

