Week One Down

I went into my first week of Marathon Training unsure of how my IT band would hold up, but the good thing about my plan is that it involves three days of running, and three days of non-running workouts. I expect yoga and strength training to really benefit my legs in this journey!

Here is how it went (plan on top, what I did on the bottom – click the image to see it larger):



I followed it pretty much exactly until we got to the weekend. We left early Saturday morning to head to LSU, where my husband had some law school festivities to attend to prior to the game vs. Kentucky. It was too dark to go running before we left (running in the dark, alone – big no no!)

But we had fun at the game – it was a beautiful day!

I had thought *maybe* I could run after the game, but the sun and lack of sleep wore me out. I spent Saturday afternoon after the game napping instead.

So I switched my Rest Day to Saturday and my “long” run day to Sunday. As you can see in my plan, my long run was supposed to be 10 miles, and I didn’t believe it was smart  for me to attempt that coming off a low mileage month and an injury. Instead I did half that, 5, and it was really good – some pain at 3.3 miles, but I stretched and was able to finish soundly.

Today starts Week Two, and I’m going to do the same thing as last week – take it one day at a time, listen to my body as far as pushing too hard. Hopefully soon I will be back up to the mileage that allows me to follow my training plan completely.

Monday – 2 mile run.

Was supposed to be “speed” but my goal was to run pain-free, and that happened!

Tuesday – 20 minutes of yoga.

I purchased this DVD of yoga workouts from Whole Foods:

I did the Power Foundation workout whose description states “This routine will awaken your spirit and increase core stability for improved balance and stamina.” It was really easy for the majority and then some hard poses came at the end. In future weeks I will do multiple workouts from this DVD on Yoga Day.

Wednesday -20 minutes of kickboxing workouts.

I did two 10-minute kick-boxing workouts from this DVD:

Only 20 minutes total, but I was sore for the next three days!!

Thursday, 3 miles ran.

Felt pain-free for the majority, definitely not the pace I am used to, but my conditioning is still not back where it was yet.

Friday, headed to the gym (before work!) for cross-training.

I did 20 minutes on the Cybex ArcTrainer, a more intense elliptical type machine, and about 20 minutes of weights for upper and lower body.

Saturday – Rest!

Sunday- Ran a glorious 5 miles!

The weather was beautiful, this was my first time running in tights in probably 5-6 months!!

(I wear shorts on top of my tights – I am just too modest!!)

I will go into this week’s training in another post, but it starts today with a 3-mile “Speed” run that will be not so speedy, I am sure. The only problem with switching my rest day to Saturday is that it makes me have to run 2 days in a row. I want to avoid this as much as possible to keep the injury quelled, so I am going to take it easy.

2 thoughts on “Week One Down

  1. A. Rodney Yee is my favorite, favorite, favorite yoga person ever.
    B. So glad you’re running pain-free!
    C. YESSSS to running tights and capris. ‘Tis the season!

    Can’t wait to read more about how your training goes. Sounds like you are off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

