Not So Successful This Week.

This was a weird week, in that we went out of town on Wednesday to visit my in-laws, and so it kind of messed with my training plan in a way. But in reality, I got off on the wrong foot to begin with, so I can’t really blame it ALL on the trip. Here is how this week went down:

The good thing is I made my runs my priority. Even though I missed out on the Monday run, I wasn’t going to let anything keep me from making it up on Tuesday. The trip did kind of mess with my XT days, even though I could have prevented that.  I brought DVD workouts with me, but never got motivated enough to fit them in my day. I definitely want to get both XT days in next week, especially for the strength work I know I need!

Here is how the week broke down:

Monday: REST

I didn’t get home until later than expected, and one of my husband’s friends invited us to go eat at a buffalo wings place with him and watch Monday Night Football, so I decided to take an extra rest day.

Tuesday: Ran 3 miles.

This was the closest my three “speed” runs have come to actually being speedy. 9:15/mile pace is the fastest pace I’ve had since my injury for any run. I was very happy with this!

Wednesday: REST

The only way I could have fit XT into this day would have been if I had gone early in the morning before work, and I just couldn’t do it. Lazy, I know. I hope to have less excuses next week. We immediately took off for our 4+ hour trip after work, so it just wasn’t happening.

Thursday: Ran 7 miles.

Being on vacation meant I got to do my long tempo run in the morning, fresh, rather than tired after work. The result was another good run, with about a 9:30 pace. I did the run around my in-laws’ neighborhood. I took breaks at mile 2.75 and mile 5 for some Powerade.

After my run I did 20 minutes of yoga, which I think really helped my body recover quicker!

Friday: REST

Another day of LAZY! Thought about doing a DVD workout in the morning, but instead I spent it reading stuff on the Web, and then I went to lunch and shopping with my mother-in-law, then took a nap, then we went out and to a movie as a family.  By the time we got home it was time to get ready for bed and my long run the next morning. It was a lovely day! I wish I had fit something in though.

Saturday: Ran 13 miles.

Toughing out this run makes me feel way less guilty about missing XT days. I intended to get up around 7:30, but was just so tired and finally got up at 8:20. This meant my run was a little warmer than it would have been otherwise, but it was still so much more bearable than this summer. I went running along a jogging path next to the Red River, which is 4.3 miles one way. I did that twice, then ran 2.2 miles, turned around, and ran the remaining 2.2 miles back to my car. So it was pretty much four segments and that’s how  I viewed it mentally. Here were pictures I took with my phone after running the first 4.3 miles and reaching the end of the trail:

I took a little break on this bench and ate some Gu Chomps.

Oh! I ran with my CamelBak Charm for the first time, and it wasn’t a problem at all except for the end. It didn’t bounce, I just heard the water swishing around in there the whole time. Then, at the last mile and a half (which is always torture mentally), the mouthpiece, which I had looped through my strap, kept falling down and bothering me. But overall, it was a good experience and it was needed, since I was away from my car for about 8.6 miles.

This was tough mentally and physically, mostly for the last 4 miles, and especially the last 1.5 miles. In addition to the CamelBak mouthpiece thing, I got cramps which was just cruel. But I made it! I kept wishing it was time to be done, but I never considered actually quitting. I just can’t imagine running more than twice this distance in 3 months! But I will, somehow.

Sunday: Yoga.

I did 20 minutes of yoga this morning. We will be heading home after lunch, so I’m glad to get that in before 4 hours stuck in the car. My quads and right ankle are still a little sore today.

3 thoughts on “Not So Successful This Week.

  1. Looks like you did a great job this week! Cross training is always the hardest for me. I think I feel like it is expendable even though I do want to do it. If something gets skipped, it’s always my cross training.*

    • That’s so sweet! I am running with a friend and we will be staying at my parents’ house about 30 minutes outside N.O., so I don’t know if we’ll be going into the city the night before, but if I can I will let you know ASAP!! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

