Marathon Training, Week Four

This last week went really well, I was happy to get more cross-training in. I’m still dismayed at my limited amount of yoga.

Monday, Ran 3 miles.

Good run, nothing special. Over a week later, I can’t remember too much about it! My pace is getting better each time, though.

Tuesday, Rest.

Skipped out on yoga, planning to do it another day.

Wednesday, Rest.

Planned to go to the gym before work to do cross-training, but I couldn’t make myself get up early enough. So then I said to myself, “I’ll just do Thursday’s run today, and then do two days in a row of XT.” Nope, that didn’t happen either!

Thursday, Ran 3.

Monday was supposed to be my speed run, and Thursday was supposed to be my tempo run, but I just felt so good on Thursday going faster that I did just that! My splits were something like 9:33, 9:03, 8:25!! Fastest pace since my injury for sure. I’m excited to build on this. I went ahead and did yoga after getting home. Never want to skip out on yoga!

Friday, Spinning and Weights.

Made myself get up before work and go to the gym. I had a really bad headache so I didn’t quite feel like giving it my all, but I did 20 minutes of spinning and weight workouts for both upper and lower body.

Saturday, Ran 10.

I wish I could marry this run. It was so good. I decided to go out to LSU and run around the lakes there, and I loved the atmosphere, so many other runners out at 7:30 a.m.! The weather was cool and overcast, and it just felt great. My pace was 9:46/mile, definitely my best long run by far of training. Since there were water fountains around and I was able to get back to my car at 4 miles for a Powerade break, I did not run with my Camelbak this time.

Sunday, Spinning, Cybex Arc Trainer, and Weights.

Since I took two rest days earlier in the week, I felt compelled to get in another XT day. I did so on Sunday morning before church. It’s so nice to have an 11:15 a.m. service to go to, so I was able to go to the gym at 8, workout for about an hour, get back and shower, change, eat breakfast, all before church. Then after church we headed to New Orleans for the Saints game. This was a good day!

I am going to go ahead and admit that I didn’t do my training run yesterday because of this:

My car wouldn’t start after work yesterday, so I had to bum a ride home and was NOT in the mood to do anything after that. Car got towed this morning, so hooray for spending lots of money unexpectedly! I will try and make up the run today. It might make me feel better!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training, Week Four

  1. Sorry to hear about your car. It always sucks to make unexpected purchases. 😦

    I love reading about your marathon training, I’m training for my first one in January.

Leave a Reply

