Marathon Training: Week Five Review

05 Week Five Oct 24-30

Week Five got off to a dramatic start on Monday afternoon, when my car wouldn’t start after work. My resolve to do my speed run quickly dissipated, and once I finally got home, I had neither the energy nor inclination to change into my running clothes and go. Perhaps, in hindsight, I think it may have made me feel better about the situation, but I just couldn’t do it.

Tuesday I didn’t have my car and my husband had class, so I couldn’t go running (I don’t run from home, I have to drive out somewhere so that wasn’t happening). I could have done yoga, but once again, the day was a fail.

Finally, Wednesday brought me getting my car back and getting a run in.

Wednesday, Ran 2.6 Miles

oct 26

My husband came with me! We went out a little later than usual so it got dark during the run, which always makes me a little uncomfortable – just less safe. But we were still plenty sweaty, as my husband displays.

Thursday, Ran 5 Miles

oct 27

This was an awful, terrible, no good, very bad run. Let me recall all the things I was dealing with – dead legs, upset stomach, side cramp, stuffed up nose=hard to breathe, shoulder pain… I just hated it from the first second. I took two water breaks and wanted to quit so bad, but I pressed on. I thought it might have had something to do with running two days in a row, and I just had to hope that I’d gotten a bad run out of my system before Saturday’s half marathon.

On Friday, I needed to get up early before work to get any XT in, and I didn’t do that. Right after work, we left town to go pick up my race packet in New Orleans.

Saturday, Ran 13.3 Miles (Jazz Half Marathon)

I considered running the remaining mileage to get to 14 after the race, but my legs were so tight and sore that I ditched that idea. From now on if I’m running a race on a long run training day, I need to do the excess mileage before the race. It’s just not going to happen afterward. Lesson learned.

I’m doing a full race recap, but basically I tried to treat this race like a long run. My legs were dead and I had some discomfort the entire time, so even if I was going into this like a race, I probably wouldn’t have ran well. Just one of those days.

Sunday, Spinning for 25 minutes, Weights for Upper and Lower Body

I went to the gym on what would have been a rest day to make up for missing my XT days earlier in the week. Like two weeks ago, I really regretted missing them and again I have resolved to make it more of a priority.

Here is Week Six’s preview:

06 Week Six Oct 31-Nov 6

After five weeks of marathon training, I think it’s time to toughen up. Up until now I’ve been running with little regard to pace or time, because after two months of an IT band injury, just the fact that I was running was good enough.

Now that I know I am pretty much recovered, it’s time to really buckle down and accompany my running days with pace goals.

I also need to seriously become more serious about cross training and yoga. I’ve been slacking and that could be a reason my runs last week were so bad.

Goals for Week Six (These will slightly increase as I improve):

Speed Run: 9:00-9:10 pace

Tempo Run: 9:30 pace

Long Run: 10:00-10:15 pace

XT Goal – Don’t skip! Do weights twice and spinning/Arc Trainer twice.

Yoga Goal – AT LEAST 40 minutes cumulative

The 15-miler will be a distance personal record for me, so I’m excited about that!

One thought on “Marathon Training: Week Five Review

Leave a Reply

