La. Marathon Training: Week 12 Recap

012 Week Twelve Dec 12-18Ugh. another week where I didn’t accomplish anything outside of running. Granted, we left town on Friday and didn’t get back until Monday afternoon, so that made it harder to do what I had intended to do on the weekend, but that’s still no excuse.

Tuesday, Ran 3 (Speed).

This run took several different turns figuratively – I felt like I was flying at first, and sometimes I’d look down and my pace would be sub-8:00! But then my right knee and right calf locked up and got super tight around 1.5 miles, so I had to let up. My lungs were working hard too. I still finished with a great pace (For me), but I definitely started out too fast and couldn’t finish strong.

Wednesday, Ran 5 (tempo).

I had to run two days in a row due to missing out on Monday and travel plans pushing my long run to Friday. My right calf again locked up and was tight as I ran this 5-miler at a faster pace than I normally do, and with the cold lifting and heat/humidity rising (was probably around 67-70 degrees), my lungs were having to work harder and it was just NOT fun. I was surprised at my pace (8:45) at the end, because my legs felt like stone the entire time.

Friday, Ran 15 (long).

I can sum this one up in 5 words: Most Miserable Training Run Ever.  It got off on the wrong foot right away, when I overslept (Was off work for the day) and had ZERO motivation to do this run. I got my stuff and left the house, then realized I’d forgotten my Powerade and water and had to turn around and go back. Then, as I drove my normal way to the Lakes, the street I take was completely blocked off at one part and you had to detour. Well, I don’t know my way around the neighborhood, so I had to turn completely around and go take a very different and out-of-the-way route to the Lakes. Talk about making me just want to QUIT!

I finally made it, parked, and got ready to run. It was again humid and warm – 70 degrees when I started at around 8:45. I tried to make this run more interesting than normal – I added some new parts to my loops and tried to vary it up because I’m starting to get bored with the same sights over and over. I had to stop after every 4 miles or so and get Powerade and eat some PowerBar Energy Chews. I think I’m done with that brand of chews – this is my third time taking them and they always make my stomach feel off. Lesson FINALLY learned.

I was fine for miles 1-8 or so, keeping under a 10:00-minute pace and feeling OK though still unmotivated and impatient to be done. I was also sweating profusely after only one mile. Then I just started hitting a wall where my lungs felt too overworked – from the humidity and thick air? I took a Powerade stop after mile 12 and was so tempted to just stop. It was double digits, what difference does 3 miles really make? But I knew this was a mental challenge and I needed to win all mental challenges in my runs from here until the marathon, to make sure I am ready to beat the mental challenges I face during the race.

So I started running again. My lungs felt overworked still, even after a break, and after another mile, I did something I’ve never done in my long training runs before. I walked. As my Garmin hit Mile 13.0, I stopped and walked for a minute and a half, catching my breath. I started running again and stopped again at 13.5. Walked for a minute and a half. Ran again, stopped at 14.0 and walked for a minute and a half. After that, I ran the rest of the way back to my car to hit 15.0. I have never had to walk before because I couldn’t catch my breath. It was very disconcerting.

I’m proud of myself for finishing the distance even though I felt awful, and if nothing else I finally realized I can no longer eat a certain brand of energy chews while I run. If it’s humid on race day, I may be in trouble, but I will finish no matter how long it takes.

The reason we went out of town was to attend a wedding in Florida. Hunter was a groomsman. It was a quick but very fun trip!

This is what I look like when I haven't been running for the last 2 hours 🙂

Here is Week 13:

Yes, I’ll be running 20 miles on Christmas Eve. If that doesn’t qualify me as a “real” runner, I don’t know what does!

One thought on “La. Marathon Training: Week 12 Recap

  1. Good for you for sticking it out on that 15 miler when you had every reason to quit! You’re right about the benefits of pushing through mental tough spots. I’m crossing my fingers that the humidity dies down. It sounds yucky!*

Leave a Reply

