Half Marathon Non-Training

At some point in the highs of marathon training, I signed up for a half marathon that takes place exactly 2 weeks after my first time doing 26.2 That would be this coming Sunday, and even though I spent the last 4 months getting ready to do a full marathon, after two weeks I feel completely unprepared to do 13.1!

Here is what I did after the marathon:

No running for one full week. My intense soreness was pretty much gone by the Wednesday-Thursday after the marathon, but I still didn’t run until the following Sunday, when I did 8 miles at a slowww pace. I have not run this week at all because I have been working at night and have not fit anything in in the morning. Marathon hangover, perhaps?

So I will probably do an easy 2- miler today or tomorrow to loosen up, and I have no idea what’s going to happen on Sunday. My goal would be to PR, which means coming in at any time better than 2:07:14, but with my lackadaisical past two weeks, I don’t know if I can. The weather forecast shows a high of 63 and a low of 46. Seems not-horrible.

Will be back with a report after it’s done! Fingers crossed for a PR.

Leave a Reply

