Louisiana Riverfront Half Marathon Race Recap

nolarunning.com

PRed with 2:04:48 in today’s half marathon – the Louisiana Riverfront Half Marathon. The course was out-and-back on a running trail on a levee along the Miss. River, 6.55 miles each way. As soon as we turned around to do the second half, we were faced with a monstrous headwind that didn’t let up the rest of the way. It was very challenging.

I kept a sub 9:30 pace for 8 miles and then the last four were just torturous, two were 10+ pace and the other two were like 9:33-34. Was so glad to finish! My husband and I have a tentative goal to get a sub-2:00 half in March, but I don’t know… that will require knocking almost 5 minutes off my time and that seems tough to do. We’ll see.

Waiting for the race to start
Best post-race food - pancakes!
Medal for all that hard work

I didn’t bother to take any photos of myself. I used to do a before and after photo at every race, but I guess I’ve gotten out of that habit this fall.

I did find this race photo of me heading for the Finish Line from the race’s Facebook page:

3 thoughts on “Louisiana Riverfront Half Marathon Race Recap

  1. Congrats! Sub-2:00 is my next goal, but I’m a little intimdated. Finishing a half marathon in 1:xx seems like something only fast people do. Hopefully you, your husband, and I can all achieve it!*

Leave a Reply

