Spring Races

I’m officially registered for three springtime races, with possibly one or  two more to come (eyeing the Crescent City Classic 10K in New Orleans and another 10K nearby). By April-May, it’s just going to be getting too hot for longer distance races, at least down here.

Rock ‘n Roll New Orleans Half Marathon – March 4

rnrnola

We got a great deal on this race, and I’m looking forward to running it with my husband. In general, I like smaller races much better and I have some reservations about the RnR series and it’s impersonality, but I think we’re going to have fun. Can’t beat running through New Orleans.

Head Hunter 10K (Forge Trail Series) – March 10

head-hunter-10k-logo

The Headhunter 10k is one trail race that is not to be missed. Utilizing amazing trails , the race will wind you through bayous, swamp, cypress forests, and of course some great singletrack trails. Because of a conflict with scheduling at Hooper Road Park, the Headhunter 10k will be at Tiki Tubing. Gonna be so awesome. Gonna run you through sand, water, over trees, through shallow lakes. Yeah baby! Registration opens tonight. Race is Saturday March 10th. 2012 FORGE Trail Series Race #2  You don’t say “I hate you, but I love you” to us at FORGE for no reason when you cross the finish line.

This race and the race I did last June – Hell’s Hills 10K – are part of the same trail race series, though the one I did in June was for 2011’s and this one will be for 2012’s. There are 4 and you accumulate points at each one that you place in. I actually placed 2nd female overall in June, but didn’t get the opportunity to do any of the other races. I really loved the experience the first time and this race sounds like a blast!

Fat Boy 5K – April 14

fatboy_3

Come out and join us for a true fun run on the best 5K course in Baton Rouge.Unique Fat Boy’s Running Club T-shirt, Awards 5 deep in 5 year age groups Drawings for door prizes. Doughnuts, Chocolate Milk, Beer, Cokes and Manda Po-Boys. Awards to the first 150 male finishers and 150 female finishers!

This is a really popular race in Baton Rouge with a 1,000-person limit that typically sells out at least a month before the race. I found this out the hard way last year when I went to register and found out they had reached their limit weeks prior. This time I am signed up and looking forward to partaking in what sounds like a fun time!

Leave a Reply

