Pantry Organizing

I’ve been thinking about food I want to incorporate into my (and because I cook for him, my husband’s) diet, and I got some inspiration from reading this post at Daily Garnish about organizing her pantry full of healthy grains and nuts and other things that I think, if organized, I can be inspired to use more in my cooking.

So last night I headed first to Wal-Mart and then to Whole Foods to get some canning jars and then lots of bulk items.

101_2656

Items bought (From bulk aisle at Whole Foods):

  • Couscous
  • Dried cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Quinoa
  • Jasmine rice
  • French green lentils
  • Oats
  • Almonds

I also stocked up (at both stores) on vegetables (avocados, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots) as well as bananas, plums, and spinach. I got a family size tub of hummus and Greek yogurt, eggs, Trop50 OJ, almond milk, peanut butter, cereal, soup, some canned beans, and probably more things I can’t remember.

101_2661

I organized our pantry and threw out a lot of stuff, as well as tried to make things more “viewable” so I don’t forget I have them.

Top shelf – boxed dinners like Zatarains jambalaya, red beans and rice, broccoli and cheese rice, and one Hamburger Helper meal – not the healthiest but will come in handy on busy nights. Then there are two boxes of cereal – Cheerios Peanut Butter and Whole Food French Toast Squares – and a bin full of random stuff – granola bars, Amazing Grass  protein powder packets, Cytomax drink mix packets, instant oatmeal packets, etc.

Middle Shelf – My “lazy Susan” with all my canned items on them, next to sandwich bags, plastic wrap, aluminum foil, etc., and my different teas and Equal packets.

101_2662

Bottom shelf – Some of my cooking items, peanut butter, and my new jars. A lot of my other cooking stuff like sugar, flour, etc. are in other cupboards.

I stayed up way past my bedtime cleaning out the pantry and re-organizing it, other cabinets, and the fridge. I am tired today!

One good thing about cleaning out your clutter is finding things you forgot you had! My mother-in-law gave me this coffee set for Christmas, and when un-packing stuff from our trip up there, I had put it in the pantry and it quickly got hidden by other stuff. I forgot all about it!

101_2657

I’ve already made a cup of the French Roast for iced coffee. Nice find!

I also purchased a rice cooker (on sale at Wal-Mart for $15!) and a new scale – I have two scales that don’t work properly, and since being able to weigh myself has really helped in the past when trying to lose some extra weight, I bit the bullet and bought another.

 

One thought on “Pantry Organizing

Leave a Reply

