A New Chef

My experience with cooking is pretty minimal, and my husband and I typically eat out way more than is probably normal. We’ve always known that eating out was an expensive habit, and with our attempts to save money for a trip to DC/Philly in May, it has become imperative we cut way back.

As a result of this, I’ve been cooking a lot more and because of the fun meals I’ve found on Pinterest or blogs, I have a lot of new recipes saved to try out.

Monday: Chicken Tortilla Soup with Homemade Tortilla Chips

101_2782

101_2789

The recipe called for minced corn tortillas, and I had no idea what that looked like, so I just tore up some tortillas and put them in the food processor. I guess it worked out.

101_2794

I forgot to take pictures of the final result, but the soup was not as oily as it appears in the pot. The main issue I had with the recipe was that it required way too much CHEESE. Hunter of course loved it. I also made “homemade” tortilla chips by cutting up three corn tortillas, sprinkling them with salt, cumin and paprika, and baking them for about 10 minutes. They turned out pretty good and were served on top of the soup.

101_2795

Since I’m abstaining from Diet Coke and other sodas for Lent, I’ve been drinking a lot of tea. I decided to make some mint tea by boiling water with crushed mint that I had on hand. Then I strained the water into a pitcher and soaked tea bags in it. It turned out pretty good too!

101_2796

101_2812

At about 9 p.m. I got hungry again and decided to make these easy cheese popovers from a recipe I had saved on my computer. Very tasty!

Tuesday: Twice-Baked Spinach Potatoes with Steamed Asparagus

101_2813

After this photo was taken, I switched out the boxed spinach for fresh because I was afraid the boxed kind had been sitting in the fridge too long. :0

101_2814

I had eaten a lot during the day so this was enough for me, but my husband hadn’t eaten anything all day! Don’t know how he manages that. So after eating dinner, he also finished off the rest of the tortilla soup and another popover.

Wednesday: Mushroom Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

101_2817

This sounded really good and really easy. It was both. I didn’t have the fancy cheese listed in the recipe so I just used cheddar and mozzarella and it was good. I added some chicken to my husband’s sandwich so that he wouldn’t whine for the second night in a row about there being no meat. I told him he was whining so I’m not talking behind his back 😉

101_2819101_2822

Thursday: Creamy Avocado Pasta with Steamed Sweet Corn

101_2828

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe from Oh She Glows for probably over a year, and I’m surprised it took this long – this is really easy to make and only has a few ingredients.

My food processor was having issues making the sauce creamy.

101_2829

101_2830

I dumped it into a bowl and tried to whip it more by hand.

101_2831

As a blob on top of spinach pasta it looks kind of scary…

101_2832

But all mixed up it looked much better! This was kind of bland –I  don’t think I added enough lemon juice. It tasted much better with some extra salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

