Reading Material and Traveling

I have only been able to run once since Sunday because of the deluge of showers we’ve received in recent days. I ran one lap around the park, which equals 1.35 miles, at what I intended to be a speedy and somewhat uncomfortable pace. I did it at an 8:10 pace.

We are traveling today, heading north to visit the in-laws, and I am hoping to get in a 4 or 5-mile run once we get there this evening. We’ll see how that goes, but my hopes to PR this Saturday could hinge on my ability to get some kind of longer run in today.

Not only am I going on a long weekend trip today, but in two weeks I’ll be riding in a U-Haul with my parents for 15 hours to bring some stuff to my little brother, who lives with his wife in Illinois. This will require quite a bit of reading material!

I was really excited the other day to find some newer running books at my library – I had to put a hold and wait on the Dean Karnazes book, but these other two were just sitting on the shelf waiting for me.

Running For Women by Kara Goucher
The Coolest Race on Earth by Jon Hanc
Run! by Dean Karnazes

I’m also reading the final book in The Hunger Games series, and begging my husband to take me to the movie.

Other books I have on tap:

1) Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer

2) What Would Jesus Eat? by Don Colbert

3) In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

4) Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan

Wow! I really need to pick a few books and stick to finishing them before trying to start others. I think I have ADD when it comes to books.

I also made it my goal to find a crossbody purse or messenger bag that would be handy on our trip to Washington DC/Philadelphia. Something that would be comfortable to wear and feel secure while walking around being tourists. I found the cutest crossbody purse at shopruche.com – they have it in several colors but I picked mustard!

shopruche.com

Love it! Just need it to hold my ID and money, camera, phone, etc. as we walk around.

2 thoughts on “Reading Material and Traveling

  1. Army Amy March 24, 2012 / 6:36 pm

    The Antarctica Marathon looks so cool! My husband and I talked about doing it (in a pipe dream kind of way), but I’m such a wuss when it comes to cold. I also wondered if the people got really bad chaffe from wearing all those clothes while running. You’ll have to let me know if it’s a good book.*

    • deepsouthrunner March 25, 2012 / 12:53 pm

      I will do some sort of book review on all of them! 🙂

Leave a comment