Midwest Adventure

I’ve been MIA from running, regular life, and blogging the past week because I went on a Midwest Adventure! My little brother moved up to Rockford, IL with his wife this past fall, and they left a bunch of their stuff at my parents’ house down here in Louisiana because they didn’t know how long they were going to be up there (long story).

Now that they’re settled and will be there for the foreseeable future, my parents loaded up all of their stuff including a bed and couch into a U-Haul and I tagged along for the 16+ hour drive to bring them their stuff. We split it up into two days, with an overnight stay last Wednesday in Jackson, Missouri. Before getting to Missouri, we stopped at Lambert’s in Sikeston, MO, home of the “Throwed Rolls.”

101_2971
Lambert's in Sikeston, MO

We made it to Rockford on Thursday and unloaded the U-Haul, then rested for the evening. On Friday, we made the 30-minute drive to the Wisconsin border and then kept going until we got to Decatur Dairy, where we got a tour of their cheese factory!

101_3036
Decatur Dairy in Brodhead, WI
101_3027
Cheese!
DSCF2374
We had to wear hairnets on our tour!

Then we bought some cheese which was delicious! Must be how fresh it was that made it taste so good.

DSCF2378
Nice farmland

On Friday night we went out to eat and then some of us went and saw “The Hunger Games” – it was my 2nd time!

Saturday brought breakfast at a neat place called The Swedish Inn, whose specialty is Swedish pancakes. Then we drove into my 2nd favorite city, Chicago. It’s about an hour and 30 minutes from Rockford.

101_3101
Chicago River canal
101_3166
Navy Pier is very fun

I really do love Chicago; it’s got everything – food it’s famous for (deep-dish pizza, hot dogs), great music (blues and jazz), every kind of sports team, lots of various entertainment venues, and even beaches on Lake Michigan that are open during the summer. I’m sure the only thing one might not like about Chicago is its weather in the winter.

On Easter Sunday we went to church and an Easter brunch, then relaxed until it was time to go to the airport. With the end of Lent, I enjoyed my first Diet Coke in over 40 days!!

IMG-20120408-01036
Yes, this is a liter of Diet Coke. I didn't finish it though.

Our flight didn’t leave until 9 p.m., so we got through security and then found something to eat for dinner, then hung out at our gate until boarding time.

IMG-20120408-01039
Home sweet home

Thank goodness we flew home – I couldn’t handle that long trip again!

It was a great time. I want to go back up there again in the near future. Now I will dream of our Washington DC/Philadelphia trip to get me through the next month!

One thought on “Midwest Adventure

Leave a Reply

