Tidal Wave

It rained all morning yesterday. I went to spin class for the first time in MONTHS on Monday, and planned to go to a 5:45 a.m. spin class today (Wednesday), so I just wanted to get in a short run yesterday afternoon even though a lot of the park where I run was flooded at parts of the sidewalk. I managed to keep from getting my feet wet the entire run, but as I approached the end of my 2-mile loop, I got to a part where the road beside the sidewalk had more flooded water sitting there than others. A car came zooming by right as I passed the water. Perfect storm. It felt like a tidal wave hit me.

I immediately picked up my speed and ran as fast as I could to my car, which wasn’t too far away. I was embarrassed! I didn’t want anyone to see me soaking wet!

These were the pictures I took of myself when I got back to my car:

101_3261101_3267

I was surprised my hair wasn’t more soaked, but my shirt, shorts and shoes were drenched. My shoes are sitting at my apartment with newspaper stuffed in them to help them dry quicker.

I can’t be too mad at the person who did it, even though I really think the left lane was open and they could have gotten over, because some parts of the roads here just get really flooded when it rains and it’s unavoidable sometimes. At least I was done with my run when it happened!

Leave a Reply

