Running and spinning and running and spinning.

I went to my first spin class in March of last year, and loved it immediately. I went regularly to classes, even getting up at 5:15 a.m. to make morning spins before work – SO out of character for me. I love sleep.

When my IT band syndrome flared up in August, I cut back on everything that could potentially aggravate the injury, running and spinning both. With marathon training looming at the end of September, I slowly picked running back up, but not spinning classes. I did the spin bike on my own at the gym from time to time, but 9 months literally went by without one single spin class.

I think it’s safe to say that I’m addicted again. I’ve been to four classes in the last 10 days and I plan to go to another one tomorrow morning. I love it! And I feel stronger in my runs when I am doing spin classes on the side. The teachers make me work harder than I would on my own.

My last two runs went well; an 11-miler on Sunday in beautiful weather, and a hot 3-miler yesterday after work.

3 miles 4.26 pic

3 miles 4.26

101_3290

101_3291

I’ve also been trying new things – last weekend I made Emily of Daily Garnish’s White Cheddar Yogurt Cornbread.

cornbread

It was actually the first time I’ve ever made cornbread from scratch, and it was really good! But then I put it in tupperware and left it out on the counter overnight. Bad idea, considering a main ingredient was YOGURT. Will never make that mistake again!

Then, I read Jen from Peanut Butter Runner’s simple idea to create her own Tazo Awake Vanilla Soy Latte, modeling it off of Starbucks’ $4+ drink. So easy…

101_3301

A pack of Tazo Awake teabags for $3, a carton of Vanilla Soymilk for $1.69, and a vast number of these “lattes” in my future. I didn’t add any sweetener and loved it, the vanilla adds just enough flavor.

I don’t have any races on tap for the next month RIGHT NOW, but I am considering several 5Ks at the end of May to potentially sign up for. It will be hard to fit one in though – May is going to be an amazing, busy month!

May 4-6 – Weekend in North LA for my husband’s cousin’s Cinco de Mayo wedding

May 11-17 – Vacation to DC and Philadelphia!

May 25 – Hunter graduates from Law School!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

