Running when I don’t feel like running

So, if it’s possible to gain four pounds in just a week, I managed to do that. At least, according to my scale that I finally faced today. Needless to say that was a shock! And I’m still coming down from the highs of vacation, not quite back to my healthy ways just yet… BUT as I mentioned in a previous post, I challenged myself to run 75 miles in May. No running on vacation means I am way behind… like… I need to run 37 miles in 11 days. Yeah… So here’s the plan:

  • Today: 3 miles
  • Tomorrow: 5 miles
  • Wednesday: Spinning + weights
  • Thursday: 5 miles
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: 12 miles
  • Sunday: 6 miles
  • Monday: Spinning + weights
  • Tuesday: 4 miles
  • Wednesday: Spinning + weights
  • Thursday: 3 miles
  • Friday (June 1): Rest

TOTAL: 38

This plan puts me one mile over the 75 in case I need to subtract a mile one day. SIGH. I just can’t quit this challenge – I feel even more compelled to beat it now that I’ve slacked off for half the month.

This weekend was productive. Went to two birthday parties, and I ran 4 on Saturday and 10 on Sunday. Proof:

BlackBerry takes the worst pictures in the world, BTW. I cannot wait to get a new phone, I HATE this one. (First World Problems, I know).

I felt surprisingly GREAT for both of these runs – the 4-miler was a 9:05 pace and the 10-miler was a 9:48 pace. It was so humid on Sunday, I was dripping sweat after one mile and it was 7:30 in the morning. I had to reapply sunscreen at 7 miles and I never feel the urge to do that, but I was sure I had sweated my original application all off.

I have zero motivation to run today, but my need to complete this challenge will propel me out there.

Now here are some random fun photos from our DC/Philadelphia trip:

First day in DC
Waiting for the Liberty Bell

 

At the Lincoln Memorial w/ the Washington Monument in the background

 

Rocky and me at the Philadelphia Museum of Art
Leave a Reply

