May Challenge – Complete!

I wrote earlier this month about joining a “75 Miles in May” challenge on Daily Mile. I didn’t know if I would be able to do it because I didn’t run for 10 days straight while on vacation in mid-May. But I buckled down these last two weeks and did it!

Image

When I got back from vacation on May 17, I had to run 51 miles in 14 days to make it to 75 for the month. This is how my next two weeks went:

Image

I don’t know the last time I ran 6 days in a row – I try to shy away from too many consecutive days of running to keep from injuring myself, but I feel fine. Those longer runs were really tough because it is getting super HOT and the humidity just makes it even worse.

My husband points out that I could have run so much more if it wasn’t for the break I took on vacation, but I think this challenge is what motivated me to run as much as I did. Without that challenge and the accountability from writing about it here, I doubt I’d have been as willing to get out in the heat and run so much these past two weeks.

I think my goal for June will be somewhere around 50-60 miles,as it’s just going to keep getting hotter – in fact, on the news they said we are set for record-breaking heat these next three months. The key will be doing shorter runs more often, and going out for my longer runs extremely early in the morning and drinking lots of water.

2 thoughts on “May Challenge – Complete!

Leave a Reply

