Marathon Training Plan

My training plan is complete and it starts today! The plan I have put together was based off of Hal Higdon’s intermediate plan, but I customized it for myself and so as a disclaimer this is not meant to be advice to anyone else – it’s just what I think will work best for me!

I will run 4 times a week, which is one day more than what I did in my last marathon training cycle. I feel I am capable of taking on the extra miles and it will help me to improve my time and perform better.

I have two XT days a week planned – this can be anything from spinning to the elliptical to weights to yoga to DVD workouts. I do want to incorporate yoga or Pilates on a regular basis.

I have one rest day a week planned, but I reserve the right to turn an XT day into a rest day if I see the need 😉

I have two half marathons planned into the training schedule, as well as a 5K which will have to be followed by 6 miles on my own. I really want to to this particular 5K, so I had to find a way to work it in there!

I am planning to do a 2nd marathon 7 weeks after my first marathon. I based those 7 intervening weeks on a plan I found online somewhere for doing multiple marathons. I feel like four full days of rest and light XT right after Marathon #1 will be sufficient recovery. If I feel otherwise when the time comes, I will alter the plan as needed.

So today is day #1 – XT. I am headed to the gym after work to do some cardio for 30-45 minutes followed by weight training.

So excited for this to begin!

schedule final

One thought on “Marathon Training Plan

  1. Sounds like a good plan. I start officially training for my marathon at the end of the month. I’m sticking with running 3 days a week. I’m so pumped to run another full!

Leave a Reply

