Goldenfliers 10-Mile Race Recap

This race took place on a beautiful day with beautiful weather, and it was perfect for a PR. Now, I’ve only done one 10-mile race before – this same one a year ago – and I was sick that day, and I also ran 3 miles before the race started because I had 13 planned for my training schedule. So PRing this year wasn’t that big of a challenge, but regardless, not only did I PR, I improved my pace by about 36 seconds per mile.

There was never really a point during the race where I felt like I was going to die or wanted to stop and walk. I’ve run double digits every weekend since September 15, but never at this pace, and usually with a few breaks thrown in (not just 10-second stops at the water tables). And yet I felt great. Had a few weird pangs here and there in my left upper hamstring and my left IT band (which was giving me trouble in my 15-miler a week ago), but all aches went away and overall it was pain-free.

100_4800

100_4805

100_4804

100_4808

100_4802

100E4809

100_4810

The past two years, we got this nice thick drinking glass when you picked up your packet, but this year you didn’t get it until you crossed the finish line.

Leave a Reply

