Upcoming races

This has been a pretty lackluster running year despite my two half marathons I ran within the first 33 days of 2014. Lack of inspiration, motivation, etc. has plagued me. I am trying to get back in the game this fall, starting with two 5Ks coming up.

10579998_10152650040612458_5758469041438921362_n logoI am pretty excited about my first mud run. Back when I first started running and was trying to be all serious about it, I kind of turned my nose up at these obstacle/mud races. I don’t know why – now I can’t wait to do this. And it’s free! I am on a team with a friend I know via work along with two of her friends, and our group name is “Baby Got Track.”

Another first this year was a DNS – did not start. My husband and I paid for a 5K in June and then just couldn’t get up that morning to go run it. I hate that feeling of having wasted money and being lazy. The Labor Day 5K we’re doing will require a 6 a.m. departure time, but I don’t care – we’re not skipping another paid-for race!

I ran 4 miles yesterday and when finished my face was about as red as a tomato from being overheated. I had started to get chills running through my body near the end, which wasn’t good considering it was a heat index of 97. I sipped Gatorade every mile and ate an apple right after, so I was OK.

photo 1
Red face #nofilta

This week the plan is to run 4 times –

Monday – 2 miles

Tuesday – 3 miles

Wednesday – rest

Thursday – 3 miles

Friday – yoga

Saturday – 5 miles

Sunday – rest

Monday – 5K race

Leave a Reply

