2 races in 2 days…

runrun 2run 3 oct 19

So… I have had such a good series of training runs lately that I got inspired to 1) possibly run a marathon in late January and 2) sign up for other races that could be incorporated into a training plan for said marathon. I have a training plan all worked out for the potential marathon, and it would be on Jan. 25 – the Rock ‘n Roll New Orleans Marathon, 14 weeks from now. Since I’ve already built up a base for a half marathon, there would be a natural progression into marathon training.

I may be crazy, and I am hesitant to register yet because I don’t know what life changes would hamper training over the next three months, but I know when I put my mind to something I usually can accomplish it. So I just need to put my mind to this.

Anyway, we have been in Shreveport this past weekend and I got inspired to look up some upcoming races here since it is only a 2.5 hour drive and will provide a change in scenery for some of my training runs. I ended up signing up and paying for two races that fall on the same weekend Nov. 15-16, a 10K on Saturday and a half marathon on Sunday. According to my plan, I would run 17 miles that weekend, so what I’d probably do is add 4 miles before or after the half marathon that Sunday. The reason I am doing both is because I LOVED the 10K last year – it comes with pie at the end!

pierun-logo

coverartwharveysubaruI have never done two races in one weekend before, so this will be a first for me! I was motivated as well to sign up for the half right away because the registration fee was rising $15 tomorrow!

I also signed me and my husband up for a Halloween-themed 5K this Saturday. I’d love to finally get a new 5K PR, but this is a night race so I’m not sure how I will feel by 6:45 p.m., rather than fresh in the morning. My PR is 26:33, set in Feb. 2011.

664445_10152704394344481_2537250557754166612_o So basically, in a three week period of time I am running the same number of races that I ran in all of 2013.

Leave a Reply

