RnR NOLA Marathon Training, Week 2 of 12

Picture 1

 

Monday, Ran 2 miles

IMG_7540

This was an impromptu run Monday evening which I decided to do because I had rested Saturday-Sunday and felt lazy.

Tuesday, Ran 5 miles

IMG_7556

Post-work run with my husband which was in some chilly, wet weather with a rainstorm preceding and following the run. We left our neighborhood and ran 2 miles to a park, ran 1 mile around the park and then returned home.

Thursday, Ran 1 mile

IMG_7566

This was a quick, short run before work, which I decided to do because I knew I had a high-mileage weekend coming up and didn’t want to do too much, but I also didn’t want to go three days without running at all. It was dreary and cold and I was glad to not be out there long.

Saturday, Ran 6 miles

IMG_7598

The Pie Run 10K ended up being 0.2 short of a 10K, but it was still a good race and a good run.

Sunday, Ran 17 miles

IMG_7652

I will do a race recap soon, but on Sunday I ran the Log Jammer Half Marathon and then gutted out 4 more miles to get to 17. I thought it might not happen when Saturday night’s forecast predicted a morning full of rain in the low 40s. When my alarm went off at 5:30, I could hear the rain hitting the roof and I slowly got up full of nerves. I had originally planned to do the 4 miles before the race, but I didn’t want to get soaking wet before the race even started, so instead I sat in my car for 30 minutes before the race, absolutely dreading it.

Thankfully, by the time the race started, the rain had tapered off and it was more of a cold mist. When the race was over, it was still dreary but clear, and so I set off on some very slow miles along the riverfront to finish my daily goal. I was so pleased to get these miles in despite the bad weather, and it went by quickly thanks to 13 miles being a race with others and offering a varying course. I was actually kind of cheerful during the remaining four miles by myself, and even though I ran them slowly, it went by really fast.

Total Miles – 31

Next week’s plan:

Monday – Full Rest

Tuesday – 5 miles

Wednesday – Rest or XT

Thursday – 4 miles

Friday – 3 miles (new addition to plan)

Saturday – 13 miles

Sunday – Rest (Going out of town)

Total Mileage Planned: 25

Leave a Reply

