RnR NOLA Marathon Training, Week 5 of 12

Picture 2

I had to look back to see what week this was, because I really don’t remember. The weeks are flying by. My goal this week was to run 3-4 times after only running twice last week, and I did so, though my mileage was less because of a much shorter long run.

Wednesday, Ran 2 miles

IMG_7896

Decided to get in a quick run before work so that I could start my week of mileage. I was so tired on Monday and Tuesday that I just did not have energy to run after work. This day I got up a little extra early to run before work, since we have church on Wednesday nights.

Thursday, Ran 3 miles

IMG_7897

This was a terrible run that was supposed to be 5 miles, but I hated every second and by the end, I had right shoulder pain and a sharp pain from my left shoulder to my back. Not sure what the heck was going on there, but I quit at 3 miles. I need to go get a massage.

Saturday, Ran 3.25 miles

IMG_7895

I was originally going to do my long run Saturday morning, but it was going to have to be one of those hectic mornings where I got up extra early and ran, then immediately showered and headed to work. The town Christmas parade was at 10 a.m. and I had to take pictures. On Friday night we went to Natchitoches to see a Christmas variety show at NSU, then went and ate dinner downtown where the riverfront is lit up with lights. It was great, but we got home at 11 and I knew there was no way I was going to feel like getting up and doing double-digit miles before having to hurry to the parade.

So instead I decided to do my long run on Sunday, and on Saturday afternoon, we headed to Lake Charles. I will be running a half marathon there next weekend and then doing 7 miles on my own afterward to get to 20, so I decided to scope out the lake area where the race starts and I will be parked. I ran along the lake, which was only about 1.6 miles round trip, then found a path that led to the downtown area, which has sidewalks on every street. So it was good for me to see where I can easily leave the lake area to downtown next Saturday after the race and get in my extra miles. This will be my 11th half marathon and first in Lake Charles.

Sunday, Ran 10 miles

IMG_7908

While I still had a hectic morning because I had to get my run in early before church, at least after the run all I had to do was go to Sunday school and church and just listen, rather than needing to be alert and good at what I’m doing, as I would have had I run before working Saturday morning.

Still, I didn’t get to bed until 11 Saturday night and was tired when my alarm went off at 6:30. I hit snooze a few times, then dawdled as I got ready to go. It was at least cooler than it has been all week, about 48 degrees. I took an energy gel and ate half of a Bagel Thin before leaving.

As I began running, I just felt such a lack of energy. I have a busy schedule each week and usually have to work on Saturdays, plus have a leadership role at church, so sometimes I have felt that adding marathon training is wearing myself too thin. I am still determined to do it though, and modified my run of 13 miles to just hitting double-digits at 10. I also wasn’t going to have enough time to get ready for church if I had gone to 13. So I ran an actually decent pace for me, but stopped at 10 miles. Besides being tired during the run, it was pretty uneventful.

This next week, my goal is to run three times at least, with runs of 4 and 5 miles before my 20-miler on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

