Marathon prep

FullSizeRender (10)

I get a little crazy when it comes to preparing for marathons, as there is so much to remember and the thought of forgetting something important freaks me out. I also don’t want to be stressed the night before the race, so I start getting stuff ready earlier in the week. This always involves a very long to do list, organizing my duffle bag, washing clothes, trips to the store and double-checking a thousand things. I have to ensure all my electronics are charged, my race playlist is synced to my iPod, I have my registration printed out in case they don’t have me on the list at packet pickup, I have enough gels and don’t forget my pre-race bagel and peanut butter.

IMG_1011
My cat interrupting my packing process

I also spend the week of the race trying to drink a lot of water, upping my carbs and protein midweek and deciding what my dinners will be the last two nights before the race. I am an over-analyzer by nature, so going into a big race always brings this out of me.

Because of a bad weather forecast, I wasn’t sure until Tuesday whether I’d be running the Davy Crockett Marathon tomorrow. After the RD assured me the race would not be cancelled, I registered and got to preparing. Now the weather forecast shows thunderstorms holding off until 3 p.m., at which point I will hopefully be long done, so we will pray that holds true!

Temperatures will be in the high 60s, low 70s during race time, so I am dressing for summer. I am very excited to be wearing my first piece of Marathon Maniacs gear during a race.

FullSizeRender (11)

Here goes Marathon #7!

2 thoughts on “Marathon prep

Leave a Reply

