NYC Marathon options

So this race is still 6.5 months away, but every time we get an email update, I get excited (even if it is for overpriced “in training” merchandise). Well, the latest update came with actual progress! It’s time to select our race day transportation and baggage choices.

For transport to the start, the main options are to either take a bus from Midtown Manhattan (near the NY Library) straight to the start village, or take the Staten Island Ferry to Staten Island, then take a bus to the start village. While the ferry option requires the extra step of getting on a bus once you get off the ferry, it is described as the more scenic way to get there, and there were more and later departure times to choose from. When we visited NYC last spring, we stayed in the Lower Manhattan area, which is closer to the ferry. I figured we’d just stay there again because hotels seemed to be a little more reasonable, so the ferry seems like a better choice in that regard as well. So ferry it is.

I logged on as soon as the options opened today and selected the Staten Island Ferry, departure time 8 a.m.! My last possible departure time was 8:30, but of course I don’t want to wait until the very last choice. 8 a.m. seems great because it will give me plenty of time to get there in the morning, and hopefully my waiting time for my wave start (which will probably be after 10:30 a.m.) won’t be too horrendous.

The other option is baggage – you can either check a bag or receive a post-race insulated poncho. Ummm, poncho please! This thing looks so cool. It’s hooded and everything. Plus, I can just pack a bag for my husband to bring to me at the finish line, so I definitely picked the poncho.

Picture 1

I am so excited for this experience, and it’s still so far away. I don’t think I have anticipated anything this much since my wedding.

2 thoughts on “NYC Marathon options

  1. There’s nothing like an upcoming marathon to motivate you. I guess you’re in taper mode, too. One good thing about the taper is that I have a little extra time to do more non-running things like bake banana bread – tomorrow’s breakfast!

Leave a Reply

