Praying for Shreveport-Bossier!

My husband is from Bossier City, and the area is experiencing major flooding via the Red River right now. His parents live near the river, but their house is fine. There are many homes that were built inside the levee that are covered in water. Whenever we visit his family, I normally go running along the river path on either the Shreveport or Bossier side, parking at a boat launch. I was looking at the Bossier Parish Sheriff’s Office Facebook photos today and saw my two running spots:

flooding bossier

A huge parking lot is next to this sheriff’s substation, which is where I normally park to go running on the Bossier side. The running path goes right in front of the station.

jogging trail

Another one from the Bossier side above.

flooding

Above is the Shreveport side where I go running most often. In the upper right-hand side of the photo you can see the parking lot where I normally park. We were in town three weeks ago (same weekend as my Whispering Pines injury) and the river was high and had flooded over the banks a little, but not anywhere near this bad. It hurts my heart to see such familiar places covered in water. Hoping this river starts to recede very soon!

Leave a Reply

