2015 Watermelon Fest 5K Race Recap

FullSizeRender

Yes, I am running again! Sort of. More like run/walking. After hurting my knee I didn’t run at all for almost a month straight. I finally ventured out thanks to the prodding of my husband, and walked about a mile and a half, then ran a half-mile.

When my knee held up okay with just some twinges here and there, I was brave enough to go out again, covering four miles, mostly walking with several running stints, probably running a mile cumulatively. Then I went out and walked a quarter-mile, ran a mile straight, then walked another 0.75 miles home. So nothing awesome, but with every workout I felt more confident about what my knee could handle, and so I got maybe a little over-inspired to try and run a local 5K this past weekend.

I was very nervous about how my knee would hold up and afraid I would push myself too much because of the race setting, so I had to give myself a pep talk and promise myself to take walking breaks, not let pride get the best of me and just take it very slow.

IMG_1725

I set my alarm for race morning unregistered and unsure if I would have the courage to actually go out to the race, but when morning came, I was feeling good and made myself go. Races here are typically pretty small, my town has maybe three or four 5Ks a year, it’s not really a big running community at all. This race was probably the biggest I’ve been to here as far as number of participants, so that made me feel better – my fear was it being a super small race and everyone leaving me in their dust.

I knew several people there and enjoyed talking before the race started. Once it did, I just took it very slow, sticking to a 11:30 pace or so, hyper aware of my knee. There was a water stop at around 1.5 miles, so I got some water and took my first walking break. I started up again, with my knee having a twinge here and there, then for the rest of the race took about 3-4 walking breaks after each quarter-mile.

I finished at around 35 minutes, and the course was about 0.10 short. I felt pretty happy with how I was able to finish and that my knee wasn’t throbbing in pain or anything. I got some water and watermelon, then went to check out my official results.

IMG_1736

Despite the fact that this was probably my 2nd worst 5K time ever, I got 2nd place in my age group! Even though I just turned 30, I wouldn’t have changed age groups for this one because it was 26-35. I hung around for the awards ceremony and got my medal. It was such a great feeling to have gone and done this race despite my worries about my knee, and complete it with no major problems. The medal was just icing on the cake.

IMG_1761

2 thoughts on “2015 Watermelon Fest 5K Race Recap

Leave a Reply

