A recap of this week’s workouts

I have been pretty consistent with running and bicycling the past two weeks. (I know, I deserve a round of applause, right?) I wanted to recap what I’ve done because I think and hope as I continue forward, I will be able to see a documentation of how I started running longer and faster.

Monday, Ran 5 miles/10:14 pace

garmin

This was a post-work run done around 6:30 PM or so, and I was surprised that I could even maintain the 10:14 pace considering I haven’t run 5 miles in months and months. It was hot, but not as bad as other days this week. I took a water break in the middle and tried out a drink mix sample I got in a previous StrideBox – Bumbleroot, Lemongrass flavor. It was pretty good!

bumbleroot i liked it

 

Wednesday, Ran 3.5 miles/10:10 pace

unnamed

This run felt so much harder than Monday’s! The heat index was like 108 degrees or something terrible like that, and I think the humidity was worse too. I just had trouble breathing and felt super sluggish. Maybe it being the middle of the week contributed too, IDK. I was bathed in sweat after this one, as pictured.

Saturday, Bicycle ride/3 miles

My bike
Isn’t she lovely?

I was too tired after work Thursday and Friday to do anything, though I did think about running Friday night. I laid in my bed and decided, “Nah.” Saturday I volunteered at the cat rescue shelter from 9-4:30, so all I had the energy for was a short bike ride around the neighborhood. I got all my running stuff together with plans to go on a “long” run Sunday morning before church.

Sunday, Ran 6 miles/10:32 pace

This is the longest I’ve run since New Year’s Eve, so I can’t be too disappointed with my time. My left IT band was tightening up in the last 3 miles, so I need to watch that and try to stretch more and foam roll. I hope to only get faster as I run more and the temperature eventually starts to drop some.

fuel

It is my mission to keep using samples I’ve gotten from StrideBox during my runs, in hopes of saving money and maybe discovering some new products I might love. For this run, I took a Montana Huckleberry Hammer Gel before I left the house, and it was fine. I prefer thinner gels like PowerBar, but I think this might be a little thinner than Gu.

I also mixed this LiquidIV drink mix, Lemon Lime flavor, with 20 ounces of water. Even though it said to mix with just 16 ounces of water, I still found it to be very strong tasting, and I did not like it at all. I believe I have some other samples of this same brand, with different flavors, so I will give it another chance later.

TOTAL: 14.5 miles ran, 3 miles biked

This coming week, my goal is to run 20 miles.

Leave a Reply

