Virtual racer

tr-42205

2020 has been a heck of a year. I can’t believe it’s more than half over, especially since this spring seemed to last an eternity and also doesn’t even feel like it really happened.
I didn’t run much in the beginning of the year following my half marathon, for a few different reasons. I was eyeing some spring races to maybe give myself a motivator for starting training again when all of a sudden we were in the middle of a pandemic that has yet to let up.

Even if there are any local races that take place in the next few months, it’s hard to imagine when I will feel comfortable actually partaking in one. I’ve been doing some run/walking on my own for a while now, not really feeling any particular motivation to get faster or start running for goals, so I decided to do something I have never done before – sign up for a virtual race.

I never did one of these before because I like real races with other people around, a physical finish line, the after-race food and drinks. Why do a virtual race when I can find a real one to do? Well, since there won’t be any real races in my future for quite a while, I am grateful that virtual ones exist as a backup.

I took a look at Gone For A Run which seems to do a few different races at a time to benefit different charities. The one that stuck out to me (yes, because of the cute medal and top) was the “Running Brings Us Together” 5K. I like the theme name of the race and that it benefits Girls on the Run. I also am capable of doing a 5k at least, with hopes to do longer runs (without walking) by the end of the summer.

My little race packet is scheduled to get here in the mail on Saturday, so I’m planning to do the virtual 5K on Sunday. After that I will see what else I might plan to do to hopefully reinstall some motivation to run for goals. It’s super hot right now, too, so anything that will inspire me to really run right now is needed!

Leave a comment